India’s Kantharaj Shankar Agasa Signs With ONE Championship

Indian mixed martial artist Kanthraj Shankar Agasa

One of India’s top homegrown superstars is joining ONE Championship’s flyweight ranks.

Kantharaj “Kannadiga” Shankar Agasa officially put pen to paper and signed with the world’s largest martial arts organization.

Agasa, who is considered one of the top bantamweight mixed martial artists in South Asia, is a second-dan judo black belt with strong backgrounds in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, boxing, and wrestling.

The Bangalore native trains out of Indian Combat Sports Academy and holds a spectacular 11-2 professional record, with five of those victories coming via submission and another via TKO.

Most recently, he defeated Nawras “The Honey Badger” Abzakh via unanimous decision in November 2019.

Agasa is the latest Indian athlete to join ONE Championship, which already features the likes of Arjan “Singh” Bhullar, Gurdarshan “Saint Lion” Mangat, and Ritu “The Indian Tigress” Phogat.

Though “Kannadiga” has made a name for himself as a bantamweight, he will move down to an ultra-stacked flyweight division that includes Filipino prodigy Danny “The King” Kingad, the legendary Demetrious “Mighty Mouse” Johnson, and reigning ONE Flyweight World Champion Adriano “Mikinho” Moraes.

The Bangalore resident is currently recovering from a shoulder injury, but he will be ready to make his promotional debut once it is healed.

Read more: ONE: A NEW BREED – Live Results And Highlights For Stamp Vs. Rodrigues

More in News

Regian Eersel Sinsamut Klinmee ONE Friday Fights 9 98
Tommy Langaker stands in the Circle at ONE 160
Fabricio Andrade crowned ONE Bantamweight world champion at ONE Fight Night 7
Superlek Kiatmoo9 Danial Williams ONE Fight Night 8 2
Smilla Sundell Milana Bjelogrlic ONE Friday Fights 18 23
Tyson Harrison faces off with Pongsiri PK Saenchai at ONE Friday Fights 18
Smilla Sundell wins the inaugural ONE Women's Strawweight Muay Thai World Championship at ONE 156
Russian kickboxer Dmitry Menshikov
Nieky Holzken walks up towards the Circle at ONE X: Part I
Sam-A Gaiyanghadao and Prajanchai PK Saenchai
Jeremy Miado stands in the Circle at ONE on Prime Video 3
Jackie Buntan throws a hook at Smilla Sundell at ONE 156