Danny Kingad Dominates Eugene Toquero For Submission Victory

Danny Kingad e 7051

Team Lakay flyweight prospect Danny Kingad of Baguio City put together a complete performance against enigmatic striker Eugene Toquero of Manila, winning via armbar submission with less than a minute left in the first round.

The pair locked horns at the center of the ONE Championship cage at ONE: AGE OF DOMINATION, which took place Friday night, 2 December, at the Mall of Asia Arena in Manila, Philippines.

Kingad, who is coming off a scintillating knockout victory over Malaysia’s Muhammad Haidar last April, showcased his elite wushu striking skills and high-level Brazilian jiu-jitsu.

Toquero, known for his fast-paced, thunderous striking chops, failed to get his offense going against Kingad, who utilized his distance very well. Kingad attacked Toquero from the outside with a series of kicks and well-placed punch combinations.


On the ground, Kingad effortlessly transitioned from one dominant position to another, stifling Toquero who simply appeared a class lower than the Baguio City native.

Latching onto Toquero’s right arm, Kingad swiftly stepped over and locked in a deep armbar attempt, hyperextending Toquero’s arm as the Manila-based fighter’s face contorted in pain. Toquero was left with no choice but to tap out.

The end came officially at the 4:26 mark of the very first round.

It was a complete performance from Kingad, who at 21-years old has shown maturity inside the ONE Championship cage well beyond his years. Toquero, nearly 15 years Kingad’s senior, possessed the experience inside the cage, but it was Kingad’s promising talent that shined.

With the victory, Kingad improves his record to a perfect 4-0 to remain unbeaten as a professional mixed martial artist, while Toquero drops to 8-4.

More in News

Nakrob Fairtex Tagir Khalilov ONE Friday Fights 67 40
Danielle Kelly Jessa Khan ONE Fight Night 14 2
Tagir Khalilov Yodlekpet Or Atchariya ONE Friday Fights 41 22
Nakrob Fairtex Muangthai PK Saenchai ONE Friday Fights 15
Tye Ruotolo Izaak Michell ONE Fight Night 21 64
Tagir Khalilov Yodlekpet Or Atchariya ONE Friday Fights 41 26
Reinier de Ridder Anatoly Malykhin ONE 166 9
Johan Ghazali Nguyen Tran Duy Nhat ONE 167 65
Nakrob Fairtex Muangthai PK Saenchai ONE Friday Fights 10
Mikey Musumeci Gabriel Sousa ONE 167 14
Kade Ruotolo Blake Cooper ONE 167 69
Rodtang Jitmuangnon Denis Puric ONE 167 59