Alex Silva Decimates Adrian Mattheis, Ties Record For Most Submission Wins In ONE

Alex Silva is overjoyed after his win against Adrian Mattheis at ONE 158

Alex “Little Rock” Silva got his redemption at ONE 158: Tawanchai vs. Larsen on Friday, 3 June.

The former ONE Strawweight World Champion was fired up to avenge his controversial loss to Indonesian star Adrian “Papua Badboy” Mattheis three months ago, and he needed less than a single round to finish the highly anticipated rematch with an inside heel hook.

That empathic submission victory also earned the Brazilian veteran a US$50,000 performance bonus.

Mattheis wasted no time cracking into his Brazilian rival’s defense with wild combinations after the opening bell rang inside the Singapore Indoor Stadium, but Silva absorbed the heavy leather and immediately sought to take the Tigershark Fighting Academy product onto the canvas.

“Papua Badboy” shrugged off Silva’s initial attempt with ease, but he soon found himself on the mat courtesy of a body lock takedown.

From top mount, the Evolve standout tried to secure a couple of armbars and leg locks, but the Indonesian managed to evade those attempts and get back to his feet.

Alex Silva seeks a submission against Adrian Mattheis at ONE 158

Mattheis then decided to launch a flying knee straight through the center, but that proved to be the wrong decision. Silva stepped back and then landed another takedown.

As “Papua Badboy” tried to scramble his way out, the Brazilian worked his magic on the canvas.

The former strawweight king took hold of the Indonesian’s right leg and piled on the pressure with a knee bar and leg lock. Mattheis desperately tried to find an escape hatch, but he was eventually forced to tap when Silva sank in an inside heel hook.

The bout was stopped at the 3:34 mark of round one, giving Silva his 12th career victory. Also, the Brazilian has officially tied Shinya Aoki for most submission wins in ONE Championship history.

Read more: ONE 158: Tawanchai Vs. Larsen – Results And Highlights For Every Fight

More in News

Ok Rae Yoon Lowen Tynanes ONE Fight Night 10 64
Kang Ji Won Mikhail Jamal Abdul Latif ONE Fight Night 18 11
Anatoly Malykhin is declared winner against Reinier de Ridder at ONE on Prime Video 5
Tawanchai PK Saenchai Jo Nattawut ONE 167 115
Jarred Brooks Gustavo Balart
Petchtanong Petchfergus clashes with Hiroki Akimoto at ONE 163
Kirill Grishenko defeats Dustin Joynson by unanimous decision at ONE: NEXTGEN.
Jonathan Di Bella Danial Williams ONE Fight Night 15 73
Nakrob Fairtex Tagir Khalilov ONE Friday Fights 67 40
Danielle Kelly Jessa Khan ONE Fight Night 14 2
Tagir Khalilov Yodlekpet Or Atchariya ONE Friday Fights 41 22
Nakrob Fairtex Muangthai PK Saenchai ONE Friday Fights 15