Mixed Martial Arts

江藤公洋的前同事帮助他实现了自己的梦想

2020年2月19日

日本轻量级选手江藤公洋知道成为一位职业综合格斗选手是一件很难的事情。

除了需要在拳馆保持高强度的训练,还要坚持严格的饮食,牺牲掉和家人朋友在一起的时间。而另一方面,很多怀揣梦想的格斗选手都需要一份朝九晚五的工作来支持自己的爱好。

不是所有的付出都能迎来成功的结果。幸运的是,在教练、队友和同事的帮助下,江藤公洋实现了自己的梦想,在ONE冠军赛中成为了冉冉上升的格斗新星。

在2月28日周五举办的ONE冠军赛:丛林之王中,这位日本选手将对阵阿米尔·可汗,他希望通过这个新的平台鼓舞更多热爱格斗的年轻一代。

“我正在实现自己的梦想,我可以鼓舞更多人参与到格斗运动中来,”这位31岁的运动员说道。“很多人说靠格斗很难养活自己,但是如果你尽全力去逐梦,你可以找到其他的工作机会来支持自己的爱好。”

显然,江藤的这番话源自于自身的经历。

2012年从专修大学毕业后,这位世界顶尖的地面好手为了适应社会的节奏不得不放弃这项运动,在一家地产中介找了份工作。

当他专心于新的事业,不知不觉两年就过去了,然而,他发现自己的生活没有了目标,也没有愿意为止尽心尽力的挑战了。



原本只想为了生计而工作,如今他决定重新回到格斗行业,找寻原先的激情。

江藤和老板重新安排了自己的工作,老板也同意他每周有一天可以提前下班去训练。

在专修大学期间,江藤曾在全日本大学公开柔道锦标赛中获得了第二名,他想看看自己还有没有进步的可能。

产生这个想法后,他向前辈上迫博仁请教哪里可以进行训练。

上迫博仁介绍他去了位于新宿的和术慧舟会HEARTS,Hearts这个名字只持续了很短一段时间——这家拳馆是由大泽贤二开设,先前是一家综合格斗训练馆。然而这家拳馆每周有一节地面缠斗课,所以江藤就选择了这里。

Kimihiro Eto hits a takedown in ONE Warrior Series

大泽很快发现了江藤在地面的优势,然后鼓励他去尝试一些踢拳课程。

江藤很快感受到了这项运动的魅力。大泽随后向年轻的江藤提起了一场业余综合格斗比赛并鼓励他重返赛场,江藤抓住这个机会,在轻量级比赛中收获了胜利。

两个月后,大泽要参加一场综合格斗比赛,可惜在赛前的三周左右,他不得不因伤退出。

为了寻找替补选手,大泽询问同样在轻量级的江藤是否愿意参赛。

“当你的前辈给你提供这样的机会事,你必须去完成它,”他说。“让我非常惊讶的是,我参加了这场职业比赛并且还获得了胜利。一开始我没有什么想法,但我居然成为了一位职业选手。”

ONE Warrior Series contract winner Kimihiro Eto

尽管江藤继续在房产中介工作来支持自己的生活,他也没有放弃“职业综合格斗选手”这一身份。2017年在日本DEEP的比赛中,他保持了13胜3负2平的战绩。

2018年3月,他参加了ONE冠军赛勇士选秀赛,这个系列的赛事吸引着来自全球的优秀格斗选手,每个人都为了一份六位数的合同和加入ONE冠军赛的资格而努力着。

江藤公洋的首秀对阵韩国选手朴大成。然而胜利女神没有眷顾他,江藤遭到韩国拳手朴大成的KO。不过这却激起了江藤的斗志,藤公洋没有气馁,在以手臂十字固降服井上雄策、手臂三角锁降服了JD·哈德威克和谭健桥,以三场连胜拿到ONE的正式合同。

在2019年2月对阵谭健桥之前,江藤的老板找他单独谈了谈。

“现在是你的机会,如果你赢了,你就可以加入ONE冠军赛实现梦想。为什么不专心训练?我可以赞助你。”

Japanese lightweight Kimihiro Eto gets his trademark arm-triangle choke

江藤知道要想达到自己的运动巅峰,他必须全力以赴,这位轻量级选手开始以一名职业综合格斗选手进行训练,每月领取津贴。他并不富有,但他对自己所做的事情充满了激情。

“如果我痴迷于奢侈的生活,我的生活会很艰难,但基本上,我需要的只是训练、吃饭和购买补充剂。除此之外,我还可以通过比赛赚取奖金,因为我现在可以更加专注于我的职业生涯,如果我继续赢下去,我就可以赚更多钱。”

对格斗事业的专注和追求,终于让江藤在2019年2月成功打开了通向ONE冠军赛的大门。

在这条并不容易的道路上,如果不是他的前辈和赞助商,他很难走下来。

这位冉冉升起的日本格斗新星因为在原来的工作中建立了良好的人际关系,最终得到了支持和鼓励,他希望所有处于类似情况下的人,也可以在日常工作和运动生涯中努力与周围的人建立良好的沟通。

“你在工作的时候,不能总是一个人,不与他人交流,你需要让他们知道你所做的事情并且得到他们的支持。你需要创造一个交流的环境。”

更多请阅读: Janet Todd’s Unusual Path To Muay Thai Excellence

Features

How Kimihiro Eto’s Former Colleagues Helped Him Achieve His Dream

Japanese lightweight contender Kimihiro Eto knew it would be difficult to become a professional mixed martial artist.

The lifestyle requires training heavily in the gym, adhering to a strict diet, and sacrificing personal time with friends and family. In addition to that, many aspiring hopefuls maintain a nine-to-five day job to support their athletic endeavors.

Success is not guaranteed. But fortunately, with the help of his coach, his teammates, and his work colleagues, Eto brought his dream to life and has become a rising star in ONE Championship.

As the Tokyo native prepares to meet Singapore’s own Amir Khan at ONE: KING OF THE JUNGLE on Friday, 28 February, he wants to use his new platform to inspire the next generation of martial artists.

“I’m living my dream now, and I can encourage more people with aspirations in martial arts,” the 31-year-old states. “Many people say it’s tough to make a living from martial arts, but if you do your best to follow your dream, you can get other work opportunities in doing what you love.”

Clearly, Eto speaks from firsthand experience.

After graduating from Senshu University in 2012, the world-class grappler was pulled away from wrestling when he attempted to fit into the norm of corporate society. He suited up and worked as a salaryman in an estate agency.

Two years went by as he focused on his new career, with the intense grappling sessions and competitions in the rearview mirror. Unfortunately, he found himself with no goals, and a void opened up that was previously filled by his athletic challenges.

The Tokyo resident was simply working for the sake of living, but he was determined to fix that and return to his wrestling roots.



Eto consulted his boss about arranging his work hours to allow for training, and he was given permission to leave his job early once a week for wrestling practice.

Having earned a second-place finish in the All-Japan Collegiate Open Wrestling Championships during his days at Senshu University, the Japanese grappler wanted to see if he could push even further.

With that in mind, he asked his wrestling senior, Hiroto Uesako, if there were any places he could train.

Uesako introduced him to Wajutsu Keishukai Hearts, which is located in the Shinjuku area of Tokyo. Hearts – which it is called for short – is operated by Kenji Osawa and is primarily a mixed martial arts gym. However, the gym held one wrestling session per week, so Eto went there.

Kimihiro Eto hits a takedown in ONE Warrior Series

Osawa immediately recognized Eto’s raw talent and athletic ability in those wrestling sessions, so he encouraged him to try some of the kickboxing classes.

Eto obliged and picked up the striking art quite naturally. Osawa then mentioned an amateur mixed martial arts tournament to his young charge and encouraged him to enter the field. Itching to get back into competition, the lightweight jumped at the opportunity and won.

Two months later, Uesako was scheduled to compete in a mixed martial arts contest, but he got injured three weeks prior to the match-up.

A replacement was needed and, coincidentally, Eto was in the same weight class. Osawa turned to his new pupil and asked him to fill-in.

“When your sempai (senior) tells you something like that, you do it,” he says. “As surprised as I was, I made my professional debut and won. It was all very lighthearted at first, but I turned pro.”

ONE Warrior Series contract winner Kimihiro Eto

Although he continued to support himself by working at the estate agency, Eto was flourishing as a professional mixed martial artist. He competed in Japanese promotions like DEEP and by the end of 2017, he compiled a 13-3-2 record.

In March 2018, he joined Rich Franklin’s ONE Warrior Series, which featured athletes from all across the globe vying for a chance to earn a six-figure contract and a spot on ONE Championship’s main roster.

Eto made his debut in the main event of the developmental league’s inaugural card against South Korea’s “Crazy Dog” Dae Sung Park. The bout did not go in his favor that day, but it ignited a new fire within the Tokyo native.

He closed the year in decisive fashion — earning a pair of second-round victories over Yusaku Inoue at OWS 2 and JD Hardwick at OWS 3, both via arm-triangle choke.

Before his bout with Trestle Tan at OWS 4 in February 2019, Eto’s boss pulled him aside for a private talk.

“Now is your chance,” his boss said. “If you win this, you could step up to [ONE Championship], so why don’t you focus solely on training and I’ll support you as a sponsor?”

Japanese lightweight Kimihiro Eto gets his trademark arm-triangle choke

Eto knew that if he were to reach his athletic peak, he had to give it everything he had. The lightweight started training as a full-time mixed martial artist and received a monthly stipend. He was not wealthy, but he was rich in passion again.

“If I were living lavishly, it would have been tough, but basically, all I needed was to train, eat, and buy supplements,” he explains. “Along with that, I make fight money and because I can focus more on my career now, I can make more fight money if I keep winning.”

That unbreakable focus led to the hallmark moment he was working towards. In February 2019, he submitted Tan via arm-triangle choke in 50 seconds to earn a six-figure contract with ONE Championship and compete on the organization’s main roster.

While it has been a difficult road, Eto navigated it well, and he had an incredible support system from his former colleagues and supervisor.

The rising Japanese star forged good relationships in his old workplace, which ultimately led to support and encouragement, and he urges others in similar situations juggling their day jobs and athletic careers to foster positive communication with those around them.

“In your working environment, you can’t be stubborn and go it alone,” he offers. “You have to communicate with your co-workers and boss to let them know what it is you’re doing and win them over. [You need to] create a communicative environment.”

Read more: Janet Todd’s Unusual Path To Muay Thai Excellence